Earth Day Hymn

for 6 players

mixed chamber ensemble

Earth Day Hymn (2018)

Earth Day Hymn was composed for the Earth Day/Durational concert for the 2018 April in Santa Cruz Music Festival. The hymn exploits timbres that allude to Earth sounds. The instruction based score emphasizes the role of the performers in determining the outcome. The piece is not intended to be rehearsed prior to performance and should only be played outside on Earth Day.

Marguerite Brown: bass drum

David Dunn: viola d’amore

Mélodie Michel: bassoon

Ike Minton: English horn

Jon Myers: tam-tam and stones

Mustafa Walker: hurdy-gurdy